Minutes

OF THE MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE LONDON BOROUGH OF BARNET held at Hendon Town Hall, The Burroughs, London NW4 4BQ, on 1 March 2022

PRESENT:-

The Worshipful the Mayor (Councillor Alison Cornelius) The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Saira Don)

Councillors:

Golnar Bokaei Jess Brayne Felix Byers Anne Clarke Pauline Coakley Webb Dean Cohen Melvin Cohen Sara Conwav Richard Cornelius Val Duschinsky Paul Edwards Claire Farrier Nizza Fluss Eva Greenspan Jennifer Grocock **Rohit Grover** Lachhya Gurung

Ross Houston Anne Hutton Laithe Jajeh David Longstaff John Marshall Kath McGuirk Nick Mearing-Smith Alison Moore Ammar Nagvi Nagus Narenthira Reema Patel Alex Prager Wendy Prentice Sachin Rajput **Barry Rawlings** Danny Rich Nicole Richer

Helene Richman Tim Roberts Gabriel Rozenberg Lisa Rutter Shimon Ryde Gill Sargeant Alan Schneiderman Mark Shooter Elliot Simberg Stephen Sowerby Caroline Stock Julian Teare **Daniel Thomas Reuben Thompstone** Sarah Wardle Roberto Weeden-Sanz Peter Zinkin

1. THE WORSHIPFUL THE MAYOR TO READ THE NOTICE OF THE MEETING

The Worshipful the Mayor thanked all Members for attending the meeting. She advised Council that the required notice had been given.

2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Cooke, Councillor Freedman, Councillor Hart, Councillor Levine, Councillor Mittra, Councillor O-Macauley, Councillor Smith, Councillor Williams and Councillor Zubairi.

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None.

4. REPORT OF THE MONITORING OFFICER (IF ANY)

None.

5. MOTION IN THE NAMES OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL, LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION AND LEADER OF THE LIBERAL DEMOCRAT GROUP -CONFERRING THE HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE LONDON BOROUGH OF BARNET

The Worshipful the Mayor thanked all Members for attending the Extraordinary Council meeting to confer the Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Barnet.

Upon being put to the vote, Council unanimously agreed the Conferring of the Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Barnet to Councillor John Marshall.

RESOLVED THAT COUNCIL:

Confer the Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Barnet on Councillor John Marshall.

In pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council of the London Borough of Barnet hereby do confer upon John Leslie Marshall the Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Barnet (being the most honourable award it is in the Council's privilege to bestow) in recognition of the eminent services rendered by John Marshall to residents over four decades.

John Marshall has devoted over four decades of his life as a public servant to the people of Barnet in the following roles: 1979 – 1989 Member of the European Parliament (North London); 1987 – 1997 Member of Parliament (Hendon South); 1998 – 2022 Councillor (Garden Suburb Ward).

During his service as a Councillor, John Marshall served as Mayor of Barnet during the municipal year 2008 - 2009, as a Cabinet Member and also as a Committee Chairman.

Conferring the Freedom of the London Borough of Barnet to John Marshall recognises his steadfast dedication to the many Barnet residents he served at three levels of Government, his contribution to local civic life and his efforts to improve local services.

Councillors gave their tributes and Councillor Marshall thanked them for all the support he had received throughout his political life.

The Worshipful the Mayor congratulated Councillor Marshall and thanked him for his friendship and support throughout the years that she had served with him on the Council. The Worshipful the Mayor also noted Councillor Marshall's support for the annual sponsored walk on behalf of the North London Hospice which he always took part in and sent out individual, personal letters asking for sponsorship for a cause he passionately believed in.

The meeting finished at 19.15pm